My first doll.


In my childhood loved to make little funny creatures out of fur, clothes, pieces of fur, strings – of everything I could find.
It was important for me to make my doll creatures movable – they all had a wire structure inside – and give them bright, live eyes.

It’s a pity I don’t have any photos of those dolls now – 25 years passed since the moment I’ve made them. For then I couldn’t make eyes as beautiful as I wanted – the glue which I used to make a lens was silicate and so it gone wrinkled and dull.

I plunged into reading about animals, fiction, medical and biological encyclopedias, scientific magazines adopted for children and serious reference books.
The only things that bored me to death were history and geography.
When reading I was always dreaming about embodying my favorite characters as a dolls. However I didn’t have any materials to make what I wanted — little, but movable and alive creatures.

Time was passing by and brought me youth, love, marriage and job.

With my job I can say I had all the luck – I turned out to be gifted in 3D modeling and for quite a long time I was creating sketches for souvenirs – you probably know, pieces of glass with openwork image inside.

At first this job ecstasized me: I had a great boss who appreciated my talent and gave me valuable advises how to improve sculpture and composition.

But then I gave a birth to my first son – I was filled up with happiness and absorbed with maternity. By the time I had to come back to work I’ve understood that no longer see any interest in 3D modeling. Yes, virtual sculpture is beautiful, yet it can’t be touched and played with.
And so I’ve decided to return to my childhood dream – little movable creature.
At first I tried to make dolls with wire structures, but didn’t even finish any of them as they were not what I wanted – soft, ugly body. Static dolls were not for me as well – yes, they can be beautifully made. And be put on the shelf.
But I continued searching for different options that would let me to embody my dream and accidentally came against ball joined dolls.
Firstly joints freaked me out a bit – I really didn’t like them.
When making my first doll I was thinking – ok, I’ll sew her a pretty dress closing all the joints and she. Will. Be. Just. Movable. No joints. For god’s sake.

Surprisingly while making this doll – The White Mouse, step by step I got used to all her joints.
I’ve made some changes here and there in common aesthetics, studied human anatomy in details to make joints look natural and harmonious in the wholly body silhouette.

When I’ve finally finished her she began to seem nice to me. I wasn’t very confident of my taste but I’ve submitted her on BJDCLUB.RU – source dedicated to.. Well, it’s easy to guess.
I was afraid of blame and disapproval – people on Russian forums are sometimes being too tough while telling their opinion.
However I was surprised when The White Mouse got many positive responses.
She didn’t have either eyes or hair then and looked like this:


But yet she fascinated many people and they asked to finish her and even interested about my plans on her edition.
It was 2.5 years ago.
And she still needed to be worked on – I still did not make shiny live eyes I dreamed about when I was a child.

2 responses to “My first doll.

Добавить комментарий

