Eyes.


The White Mouse Needed eyes. I don’t like painted eyes at all – no use to ask why, I just don’t.
At first I wanted to give her a pair of eyes for, you know, teddy bears. But I didn’t like anything of what I’ve seen in shops. Yes, there’s a wide choice of goods on sites selling accessories for ball-joined dolls, but I don’t feel comfortable when I have to buy something without even holding it in my hands.
The White Mouse’s face also can’t be regarded as standard, so she needed an unusual eyes of some weird color — at that moment I didn’t yet realize of which exactly.

I needed at least several pairs of eyes to try them, to see if they fit and to finally find the ones which would make a perfect match.
And so I began to serf on the internet the technology of eye making. Trying a couple of them didn’t give me a satisfying result, so I kept on searching.
I’ve learned the structure of the human eye and only then after a dozen of fails I’ve finally achieved this result:

By the way it all was happening when I was expecting my second son. )

And so The Mouse got eyes made specially for her. Unfortunately epoxy went dull after a while – but it was my mistake, I’ve taken epoxy not very appropriate for decorative work. (Later I’ve happily met the one that stayed perfectly clear and gave my dolls the bright live look I’ve always wanted them to have.)


However perfection knows no bounds and, when I’ve started to make porcelain dolls I’ve faced a good old «eye problem» again – I didn’t want dolls of longeval material would have eyes that would stay bright for 50 years at the most just because of their chemical structure.
And so I had to invent my own technology, far more complicated than the previous one, and started to make eyes of glass and porcelain.
But before the happy moment when I’ve finally took clear beautiful eyes out of my oven I had to try about 10 sorts of glass and 50 sequences of painting, glazing temperature and so on, I was leaving the oven working for all night to find cracked and split and dull eyes in the morning.
God you must know that feeling of helpless overfilling me for 6 months that it took to find out how to make things right.
And not so long ago I’ve finally made it



All eyes were perfectly clear!
I know that this result is nothing outstanding for companies specialized on making doll eyes, but! It was my great victory that filled me with pure joy.
Me dolls faces are not quite human and sometimes it takes a couple of try outs to find eyes for them.
Now my little girls look like this:





But I’ve already nipped on ahead – it’s a story about my first doll after all.
She yet has eyes but is still bald and of course needs hair to fix it.

4 responses to “Eyes.

Добавить комментарий

